Diet Roulette

So I’m sat here looking at my cup of grapes which I have for brought to work as a mid-afternoon snack and trying not to think about the Snickers that I know P has hidden somewhere so as not to tempt me. I know he’s trying to help but it rather more feels like a cruel game destined to just piss me off.

Yes, I am on a diet, or rather a healthy eating mission as I call it as diet just sounds too depressing and translates into denying myself everything I like and I am not doing that this time. I started off looking for a diet which I could do here in Vietnam, looking at all the different ones and trying to figure out if possible or not with the resources I have available to me and stumbled across something which made me give up the chase. All these diets contradict each other, seriously every single one. How on earth is this chubby chick meant to pick one when in theory every time I do something right in one of these diets I am doing something wrong in another one. Make sense? No not really but see below and see you will see what I mean….

Slimming World- Ok so all I need to do on this one is basically eat as much as I want of the ‘free things’ and limit the not so free things, right? No stop right there young lady, introducing the…

5:2 Diet- So 2 days of the week I starve myself? But I though SW just told me I could eat as much as I wanted?

Atkins- So now I can only eat protein and no carbs, goodbye pasta, rice and potatoes? But what about the 2 days where I have to starve myself on the 5:2, what do I eat then? And I thought SW told me that pasta, rice and potatoes were all free foods??

Weight-watchers- Ok maybe I need to look at a different diet. WW looks like all I have to do is control portion sizes and eat a certain number of points each day, this one looks ok.

Five Bite Diet- So I can only eat 5 bites of everything and then I have to stop, probably going to be well under my points for WW then? But wait I’m starving! 😦

Aghhhh so confusing right? No I am not stupid, I know that obviously you wouldn’t do all of these diets at once but my findings above just goes to show how confusing it can be to actually look for a diet which is sustainable and achievable without depriving your body of what it needs. If you’re anything like me as well, you will probably try a diet for a while and then switch to something else later on in life. By doing this you can see that your effectively teasing your body by giving it things and then taking it away, cutting out food groups completely and sometimes starving yourself altogether.

As much as I would love a ‘quick fix’ I don’t think there is one. The answer for all of this has been there the whole time, way way before some scientists saw that only taking 5 bites of something helps you lose weight (yeah course it does, lose weight and your mind!). Healthy eating and a balanced diet plus exercise which is what I will be doing from now. I know its easier said than done, way way easier but it has got to be easier than constantly trying to keep up with the rules and regulations of these diets and creating an unhealthy relationship with food and your body.

Now pass me that fun size snickers, moderation is key 😉


Leave a comment